About Us

The IAAT is an independent representative association for the adventure tourism sector on the island of Ireland.  This sector is one of the fastest growing and most exciting within Irish tourism and the IAAT aims to work with adventure tourism operators to develop the sector in a sustainable and responsible manner.


On the 11th January 2017, eleven Irish adventure tourism based companies met in Doolin with the purpose of establishing a representative professional association for the adventure tourism sector in Ireland. The decision was made to form an association and great progress was made in the following areas in laying the foundations:

  • Executive Board of Association
  • Aims and Goals
  • Membership Criteria
  • Plan of action to establish the organisation
  • Membership Benefits


Board of Directors (updated 01/01/2023)

  • Shane Young, Killary Tours/Adventure Centre (based in Galway) – Chairman 
  • Colin Wolfe, Ireland Wild Escapes (Galway) – Treasurer 
  • Eimear Flanagan, Away a Wee Walk (Belfast) – Secretary
  • Carina Conyngham, Rock Farm Slane (Meath)
  • Derek Binchy, Fota Island Adventure Centre (Cork)
  • Hugh Flood, Lazy Bikes (Dublin)
  • Lorcan McBride, Far & Wild (Derry)
  • Maria Kennedy, Atlantic Sea Kayaking (Cork)
  • Martin McMullan, Life Adventure (Down)
  • Maurice Whelan, Ireland Hike Bike (Kerry)
  • Richie O’Hara, BaySports (Mayo & Roscommon)